Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Florence Sitruk

Florence Sitruk, Harp - "Homecoming: From Bloomington to Berlin and Back"

The USA International Harp Competition is honored to present Florence Sitruk in a benefit concert. Ms. Sitruk will perform in the IU Jacobs School of Music Recital Hall on November 2, 2017 at 8:30 PM. The program includes a special performance of Debussy's Danses sacrée et danse profane with IU's Quartet-in-Residence, Pacifica Quartet.

Suggested Donation: $20/adult, $10/student

For more information, click here.

Repertoire Requirements Image

2019 11th USA International Harp Competition 

Required Repertoire Announcement 

IHC20160618 115 copy

10th USA International Harp Competition Winners Announced!

Congratulations to Katherine Siochi, USA, Gold Medal winner of the 10th USA International Harp Competition!

Read more about Katherine and all 10th USAIHC winners here:  10th USAIHC Winners

Jeremiah Siochi

5th Solo Harp Composition Contest Winner Announced!

The winning composition is Sublimation by Jeremiah Siochi of Arlington, Virginia (USA).

With 114 score submitted by composers from 34 different countries, this was the largest Contest to date.

For more information, click here.

Listen to Sublimation here.

IHC Groupshot sm-1

The Mission of the USA International Harp Competition is:

to elevate exceptional harpists to extraordinary heights through performance, new music, and education.

Read more about USA IHC


Harp Dreams wins 3 regional Emmys as well as the prestigious CINE Golden Eagle Award 

Harp Dreams, the WTIU-produced documentary of the 2007 competition, showcases the best young harpists in the world as they prepare for a high-stakes ten-day event held every three years at the Jacobs School of Music on the Bloomington campus of Indiana University.  The documentary is a celebration of contestants from around the world and, ultimately, the competition itself.

More Details



About the 2018 Solo Harp Composition Contest

The USA International Harp Competition was founded in 1989 by world-renowned harpist and teacher Susann McDonald. The triennial Competition is hosted by the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington, Indiana. It is considered to be one of the most prestigious competitions in the world.

As part of its mission to promote harp and harp music, the USA International Harp Competition sponsors a composition contest that occurs every three years, prior to the performance Competition. Composers are invited to submit new works for solo harp. A distinguished panel of harpists plus one composer select the winning composition.

A $2,000 USD prize is awarded to the winner and the new work becomes part of the 3rd stage required repertoire for the upcoming performance competition. The work is also performed by the Competition’s First Prize winner during their debut concert tour. It is published by Lyon & Healy and made available for purchase on their website, www.harp.com.

Click here for Rules and Procedures.

Click here for Frequently Asked Questions.

Solo harp composition contestants have included composers from Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Cyprus, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, USA and Wales.

Jury Members to Date

  • Composers
    • Claude Baker
    • David Conte
    • Hannah Lash
    • Anne LeBaron
    • Juan Orrego-Salas
  • Harpists:
    • Milda Agazarian (Russia)
    • Alexander Bonnet (Netherlands)
    • Jana Bouskova (Czech Republic)
    • Elaine Christy (USA)
    • Mario Falcao (USA/Portugal)
    • Eleanor Fell (USA)
    • Deborah Fleisher (USA) 
    • Alice Giles (Australia)
    • Katerina Gima (Greece)
    • Ruth Inglefield (USA) - Chair
    • Skaila Kanga (Great Britain)
    • Bridget Kibbey (USA)
    • Kathy Kienzle (USA)
    • Karen Lindquist (USA)
    • Judy Loman (Canada)
    • Sivan Magen (Israel)
    • Susann McDonald (USA)
    • Lou Anne Neill (USA)
    • Şirin Pancaroğlu (Turkey)
    • Ayako Shinozaki (Japan)
    • Ann Yeung (USA)
    • Naoko Yoshino (Japan)
    • Dan Yu (China)
    • Pingqiu Yue (China)

Previous Composition Contest Winners


  • Visions in Twilight by Garrett Byrnes (USA) and
  • Despedida by Mischa Zupko (USA)


  • Huan by Chia-Yu Hsu (Taiwan)


  • Awakening Stillnesses by Michael Maganuco (USA)

In 2009, 70 compositions from 29 countries were submitted. Five works from the final round were presented during a special Composer’s Forum at the 2010 performance competition to also recognize the following:

  • 2nd Place: Aurelio Edler-Copes, Brazilian/Italian living in Paris, for his work Seule
  • 3rd Place: Douglas Gibson, New York City, USA, for his work The Pearl Divers
  • 4th Place: Caroline Lizotte, Quebec, Canada, for her work Odyssee
  • 5th Place: Stephen Yip, Hong Kong living in Houston, Texas, USA, for his work Spirit Labyrinth


  • De l’obscurité II by Benjamin Attahir (France)

In 2012, 81 compositions from 24 countries were submitted. Six works from the final round were presented during a special Composer’s Forum at the 2013 performance competition. These included:

  • What is Danced…(and what is not) by Eric Chasalow (USA)
  • Storm’s Morrow by Amit Gilutz (Israel)
  • Chants by Viktor Hartobanu (Germany)
  • Indiana by Andres Izmaylov (Russian Federation)
  • Shindychew Dances by Stephen Taylor (USA)
  • The Curl-up by Alan Thomas (United Kingdom)


  • Sublimation by Jeremiah Siochi (USA)

In 2015, 114 compositions from 34 countries were submitted. Five works from the final round and two works from the semi-final round were presented during a special Composer’s Forum at the 2013 performance competition. These included:

  • Nuance by Shai Cohen (Israel)
  • Le chant du chat echappe by Nathan Cornelius (USA)
  • stuck. in .magazine. by Monika Dalach (Poland)
  • Sailing on Starlight by Evan Fein (USA)
  • Nightly Monologue II by Karen Keyhani (Iran)
  • Night by Phil Taylor (USA)
  • Sons of Hypnos by Bora Uymaz (Turkey)


Donate Online Today

Giving to the USAIHC through the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music is easy and secure. Just click the button below. We are grateful for and appreciate your support!

Give Now

You can also mail your contribution of any amount to:
USA International Harp Competition
P.O. Box 5008
Bloomington, Indiana 47407 USA

Who's Online

We have 60 guests and 8 members online

Jacobs School of Music logo